A public garden & cultural center

Yeon Jin Kim

Winter Workspace 2017

Pictured above:
Zoonomia, 2016
Mixed media
Courtesy of the artist


Yeon Jin Kim is a multi-media artist who works with video, three-dimensional landscape models, ink, graphite, watercolor and cast plaster. She explores the dynamic and resilient intricacies of flora and fauna. Kim draws inspiration from Alfred Hitchcock, Terry Gilliam, Franz Kafka and Lewis Carol to produce her fantastical, macabre fable stories. These disruptive narratives serve as metaphorical references to the death and regeneration of natural processes. At Wave Hill, Kim will construct a ten minute mixed media video titled, “Zoonomia”, which illustrates eccentric landscape elements with previously inhabited extinct species set in the greenhouse.

Kim has been a resident at Fountainhead Residency Program, Visiting Artist and Scholar Residency Program, I-Park Residency Program, Artist-In-Residence Workspace Program at Henry Settlement. Islip Museum, Constance Saltonstall Foundation and Yaddo. Kim’s work has been shown at Auburn University, Fulcrum Gallery, Columbus State University; Marshall Arts; Hunterdon Museum of Art; Catskill Art Society, Livingston Manor; The Foundary for Art, Design + Culture; Thomas Hunter Project Space, Hunter College; Governor’s Island, AIR Space, Henry Street Settlement; Nuture Art and internationally at Giguk Video Art Festival, Germany; Third International Video Festival, Cairo, Egypt; Germany; Seoul, Korea; and others.

Learn more about the artist here.

Yeon Jin Kim will be present for Drop-In Studio Sundays from 1-3pm on January 15 and 29.  

The Arts at Wave Hill are supported by the Lily Auchincloss Foundation, Inc.; Michael J. Shannon; Milton and Sally Avery Arts Foundation; the National Endowment for the Arts; New York City Department of Cultural Affairs; New York Community Trust Edward and Sally Van Lier Fund; New York State Council on the Arts with the support of Governor Andrew M. Cuomo and the New York State Legislature; The Pollock-Krasner Foundation; The Shelley & Donald Rubin Foundation; and by the Cathy and Stephen Weinroth Commissioning Fund for the Arts.